Die Geschichte vom vollkommen unvollkommenen Bild – The story of the perfectly imperfect picture

Vorbeigerannt2

Kürzlich habe ich mich getraut, mich bei einer Fotocommunity zur registrieren, dort wo die Profis ihre Werke zeigen um sich anschliessend gegenseitig zu kritisieren. Das erste Bild, das ich hochgeladen habe, war der Fuchs im Schnee (den ich am 17. Dezember als „Mein Lieblingstier“ auf diesem Blog gepostet habe). Als Neuling erntete ich ein wohlwollendes Schulterklopfen. Wenn ich durch die Bildergalerien der anderen Fotografen surfe, sehe ich all diese perfekten postkarten-ähnlichen Bilder, mit Photoshop bis zur äussersten Perfektion optimiert. Aber je mehr ich mir das anschaue, desto weniger gefällt es mir. Das ist nicht meine Welt der Fotografie. Ich bin eher ein Reporter der Wildnis, kein Fotokünstler. Also beschloss ich, etwas ganz anders hochzuladen. Wieder einen Fuchs im Schnee, aber ein vollkommen unvollkommenes Bild: Unscharf und rauschend, die Umrisse des Fuchses verschwommen. Aber es ist eines meiner absoluten Lieblingsbilder von Füchsen, weil es mich an einen emotionalen Augenblick erinnert. Ich war stundenlang in der Kälte gesessen, als dieser Fuchs nur wenige Meter vor mir vorbeirannte. Die Mitglieder der Fotocommunity fanden das gar nicht toll. Die freundlichste Reaktion war gar kein Kommentar. Was war geschehen. Klar, Sie verbinden nicht diese Emotionen mit dem Bild, wie ich sie habe. Für sie ist es wie Urlaubsbilder anschauen, langweilig wenn man selbst nicht dabei war. Sie sehen nur die fotografische Qualität des Bildes, die zugegebenermassen nicht gut ist. Was schliesse ich daraus: Uns gefällt, was positive Gefühle in uns hervorruft. Wir finden etwas schön weil wir es lieben, nicht umgekehrt. Tierbilder in Postkartenqualität sind wie Models auf dem Laufsteg: schön anzusehen, aber emotional steril, austauschbar, daher billig-kitschig. Unsere Gefühle entscheiden, was uns wirklich gefällt und was wir lieben. Meine vollkommen unvollkommenen Bilder werden mir auch weiterhin gefallen, da bin ich mir sicher.

Frohe Weihnachten und ein glückliches neues Jahr

Thomas

Recently I dared to register for a fotocommunity, where professionals are sharing their pictures for subsequent mutual criticism. The first picture I uploaded was the fox in the snow (see “My favorite animal” posted on this blog on December 17). As a newcomer I earned a complaisant slap on the back. When surfing through the galleries of the other photographers, I see all these perfect postcard-like pictures, optimized with Photoshop to the ultimate perfection. However, the more I see the less I like them. This is not my world of photography. I understand myself as a reporter of the wilderness rather than a photo artist. So I decided to upload something quite different. Again a fox in the snow, but a perfectly imperfect picture: a fuzzy and noisy image, the shape of the fox with blurry edges. But it is one of my favorite fox pictures ever, because it recalls an emotional moment. I had been sitting for hours in the coldness when this fox rushed along just a few meters in front of me. The members of the fotocommunity did not like it at all. The friendliest reaction was no comment. What happened? Of course, they do not feel the emotions I have. For them it is like watching holiday pictures of others, which is boring if you haven’t been there. They can only rate the quality of the picture which is poor, admittedly. My conclusion is that we like what causes positive emotions; we see beauty because we love something or someone, not the other way around. Picture postcards of animals are like pictures of models on the catwalk: nice to look at but emotionally sterile, exchangeable, therefore trashy! Our emotions decide about what we really like and love. For sure, I will continue to like my perfectly imperfect pictures.

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year

Thomas

13 thoughts on “Die Geschichte vom vollkommen unvollkommenen Bild – The story of the perfectly imperfect picture

  1. Great words! I agree with you – most of my photographs are taken to be nice to loom at, but some are, like your fox photo, for the moment. Such wilderness images resembles memorable and special happenings. I have never seen a fox – the post with the fox photo you linked to, was great by the way. I don’t think it was poor.

  2. Du schreibst mir aus dem Herzen!
    Wobei ich meine Fotos nicht mit Deinen vergleichen will, Deine sind echt besser!
    Aber ich mache auch ganz bewußt Bilder, die meine Umgebeung zeigen sollen, nicht nur „Postkartenmotive“… finde ich viel lebendiger, als das glatte, perfekte.
    Liebe Grüße und hab ein schönes Weihnachtsfest! Oetra

  3. I think it’s a lovely shot!! I might have played some more with colors and contrasts (cause I just love doing it), but I feel this is a more interesting pic then those postcard-foxes😀 There are plenty of perfect foxes on the internet anyhows😀 (and photocommunities is scary business :-P)

  4. Thanks for dropping by my blog. I too love the fox. A beautiful creature. We are havng bad weather at the moment and we are being visited by foxes who know where there is a free meal. I could watch them for hours. Good luck with the blog.

  5. In the UK foxes can become very confident around people, perhaps too confident. I live in the countryside with three large lakes nearby, and feed the birds and always make sure there is fresh water for the birds and animals that visit. As a consequence, we have a huge variety of animals and birds visit the garden. These visitors give me enormous plesasure and are much more entertaining than the TV. In the bad weather I feed the foxes at night but have to be careful because I have two large dogs. When the weather is extremely bad they will visit in the day and then I know they are in trouble and I make an extra effort. My routine every time I let the dogs out is to make loud noises, whistle and then count slowly to three before I let the dogs free. This gives time for the foxes to go if they are out there. I know the foxes have been because the dogs chase around the garden, which is very large and dark and surrounded by fields, so it’s easy for the foxes to run to safety.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

